Online

I have gone on line again, taken up the internet dating thing, I have tried this before and it’s not really worked for me but I have been going out more and I have not been meeting anyone so I think this might be the only way. The thing is it used to be such a last resort but now I think it’s the only way. I know there are lots of people who are looking for a one nighter, maybe they are married or in a serious relationship but I also think that maybe I have been too cautious in the past.

So I updated my profile and re-posted as looking for a relationship rather than dating but I still have strict rules. I will not respond to anyone who writes either a message or their profile in ‘text’ I do not think its gr8t and I do not want to meet u. If you cannot write properly I’m just do think you’re for me, I mean for God’s sake there is spell check and grammar check it’s easy enough! I will not respond to anyone whose profile consists of Hi if you want to know about me just message me. If you can’t be bothered to write anything about yourself you can’t possibly be serious. I don’t reply to any messages sent in the middle of the night, the sender is probably drunk, I don’t reply to anyone whose message is ‘wow your beautiful, wanna chat?’.

Maybe I’m fussy but I’d rather be fussy than put myself in a position I don’t want to be in. There is one more thing that puts me off although I don’t want it to, it’s that line – my life is my wonderful children. I think it’s fantastic that they love their children and it’s not that but the thoughts that go through my head are, is there any room for me? And do I want to take on someone else’s children? I don’t want to feel like this, it’s a selfish thought and maybe if I met someone and liked them I would be happy to take that role.

Anyway I’ve been on for about a week now and I had a date on Wednesday, well this nearly put me off again, for a start his picture was probably about 15 years old! He turned up in a hoody and he basically didn’t interest me at all. The date didn’t last long. So this would normally put me off but I got home and went straight back on the site, I’d got a message from a guy who’s profile was the best I think I’ve ever seen. It was long but from it he seemed to give a good idea of what he is like, what he currently does and what he wants from the future, he seems to be genuine and we seem to have a lot in common. Hopefully I will meet him soon and who knows maybe it might work?

I’m not expecting miracles but I know so many people who have married someone they have met online and I’m not meeting anyone by going out so I’m going to stick at it. Fingers crossed, holding my breath I’m jumping in.

One thought on “Online

  1. I know exactly how you feel! My own online dating experiences have been less than stellar so I know it can be frustrating. I wish you the best. It’s all we do, really, is hope for the best. Good luck!

Leave a comment